Tonga Wizard

Tonga, officially known as the Kingdom of Tonga, is a Polynesian sovereign state located in the South Pacific Ocean. It is located east of Fiji, south of Samoa, and west of the Cook Islands. Tonga comprises approximately 170 islands, of which only about 36 are inhabited. The country’s geographic coordinates range from approximately 15° to 23°S latitude and 173° to 177°W longitude.



Tonga has a tropical climate characterized by warm temperatures year-round. The climate is influenced by the South Pacific trade winds, which bring cooling breezes. The wet season typically occurs from November to April, with heavy rainfall and occasional cyclones. The dry season, from May to October, offers more stable weather conditions.


Tonga is home to a diverse array of marine life, including tropical fish, dolphins, and whales. The surrounding waters are renowned for their coral reefs, which support vibrant ecosystems. On land, Tonga is inhabited by various bird species, including seabirds and native land birds such as the Tongan megapode.

Longest Rivers

Tonga is not known for its extensive river systems, as its terrain consists mainly of volcanic islands with rugged coastlines. However, the islands are crisscrossed by small streams and waterways that provide freshwater for local communities and agriculture.

Highest Mountains

The highest point in Tonga is Mount Kao, located on the island of Kao in the Ha’apai Group. Mount Kao rises to an elevation of approximately 1,033 meters (3,389 feet) above sea level, offering panoramic views of the surrounding islands and ocean.



The history of human settlement in Tonga dates back over 3,000 years, with evidence of Polynesian voyagers arriving in the region around 1500 BCE. These early settlers brought with them a rich culture, including distinctive art forms, oral traditions, and navigational skills.

Polynesian Kingdoms

Tonga was historically divided into several chiefdoms, each ruled by a hereditary chief known as a Tu’i Tonga. These chiefdoms gradually coalesced into a unified Polynesian kingdom, with the Tu’i Tonga exercising authority over much of the archipelago.

European Contact

European explorers, including Dutch and British navigators, encountered Tonga in the 17th and 18th centuries. The islands became known as the “Friendly Islands” due to the welcoming reception given to foreign visitors. However, European contact also brought diseases and disruptions to traditional society.

Kingdom of Tonga

Tonga retained its independence throughout the colonial era and remained a Polynesian monarchy. In 1845, King George Tupou I established a constitutional monarchy and initiated modernization reforms. Tonga became a British protected state in 1900 but retained its sovereignty. In 1970, Tonga became fully independent, and the monarchy continues to play a central role in the country’s governance.


Tonga has a population of approximately 105,000 people, making it one of the smallest countries in the world by population. The majority of Tongans are of Polynesian descent, with a rich cultural heritage that includes traditional dance, music, and craftsmanship. The population is predominantly Christian, with the Free Wesleyan Church of Tonga being the largest denomination.

Administrative Divisions

Tonga is divided into five administrative divisions, each comprising several islands and island groups. Here are the administrative divisions along with their respective populations:

  1. Tongatapu – Population: 75,000
  2. Vava’u – Population: 15,000
  3. Ha’apai – Population: 6,000
  4. ‘Eua – Population: 5,000
  5. Niuas – Population: 1,000

10 Largest Cities by Population

The largest cities in Tonga by population are:

  1. Nuku’alofa
  2. Neiafu
  3. Pangai
  4. ‘Ohonua
  5. Haveluliku
  6. Kolonga
  7. Lapaha
  8. Veitongo
  9. Ha’akame
  10. Kolofo’ou

Education Systems

Education in Tonga is provided free of charge and is compulsory for children between the ages of 6 and 14. The country has a well-established education system, with primary and secondary schools available in both urban and rural areas. Tonga also has several institutions of higher education, including the University of the South Pacific Tonga Campus.



Tonga has six airports, with the main international airport located on the island of Tongatapu. Fua’amotu International Airport serves as the primary gateway for international flights, connecting Tonga to destinations around the world.


The Port of Nuku’alofa is the largest and busiest port in Tonga, serving as a vital hub for maritime trade and transportation. It handles a range of cargo, including exports such as fish, agricultural products, and handicrafts, as well as imports of consumer goods and fuel.

Country Facts

  • Population: 105,000
  • Capital: Nuku’alofa
  • Language: Tongan, English
  • Religion: Christianity (mainly Free Wesleyan Church)
  • Currency: Tongan pa’anga (TOP)
  • ISO Country Code: TO
  • International Calling Code: +676
  • Top-Level Domain: .to